Less is More – 13 – Lucky Dip!

This week’s challenge at Less is More is quite an easy one. The theme is ‘Lucky Dip’, and you can choose to make a Congratulations card or a Thank you one – or both, as I did!

Here is my first card. I used a much-loved stamp by Stampers Anonymous. I stamped the image in black ink, and masked off the surrounding area before applying chalks in royal blue and purple to colour the background. I used a sentiment by Stampin’ Up, and added a few purple gemstones to the design, just to make it ‘ping’ a little. 

My second card is made in a similar way, but I used Versamark, instead of black ink, to stamp the design. I used the same chalks and, as you can see, the Versamark really absorbs the colours to define the image. The sentiment is part of a larger one in a Hobby Art clear stamp sentiment set. I masked off  the part of the stamp that I didn’t want before inking it, then removed the mask and stamped the sentiment onto the card.

I think that I prefer the first card more; somehow it seems more complete to me. It was fun to use the ‘Versamark with chalks’ technique again, though. My chalks have been sadly neglected, and I’d forgotten what a lovely soft effect they create on a plain white card. I will definitely be using them more often for the LIM challenges.

Thanks for all your lovely comments last week; I appreciated each and every one.

Maria xx

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dollys daydreams
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:23:57

    Beautiful stylish card very elegant and perfect stamping.

    Marie

    Reply

  2. Suze Bain
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:29:48

    Two beautiful cards, a fabulous stamp and I think I slightly prefer the first colour scheme. x

    Reply

  3. Jo
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:58:49

    Hi Maria, both your cards are beautiful, what a fabulous stamp. Jo

    Reply

  4. Jennie
    May 04, 2011 @ 19:25:56

    That’s a really unusual stamp but it makes a lovely card. Fab:)
    Jenny x

    Reply

  5. Jean
    May 04, 2011 @ 21:31:17

    Fabulous stamp and I like the effect of the chalks, Jean x

    Reply

  6. susan
    May 05, 2011 @ 03:22:23

    What fabulous cards! I LOVE that stamp…and I really love the way you’ve added the chalk to the second card! Awesome cards!

    Reply

  7. mandi
    May 05, 2011 @ 05:28:29

    Fabulous stamp, love them both Maria
    Continued thanks for supporting our challenge
    Diva LIM mandi
    Less is More

    Reply

  8. Chrissie
    May 05, 2011 @ 06:05:41

    I prefer your first one too… I’m a bit (or maybe rather a lot) old fashioned and prefer the straight edge of the card too!
    Both cards are super!
    Thanks so much for joining us once more.
    Chrissie
    Lady LIM
    “Less is More”

    Reply

  9. Sarah (sasa)
    May 05, 2011 @ 09:52:14

    Great stamp – the image does all the talking. Love the simplicity and touch of colour.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Sarah at 150

    Reply

  10. debby4000
    May 05, 2011 @ 11:58:31

    Oh these are fabulous.
    luv
    debby

    Reply

  11. Jacqueline
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:06:14

    Beautiful cards – Jacqueline xx

    Reply

  12. zoechaos
    May 05, 2011 @ 22:43:18

    Oh love that stamp, you have used it so effectively here on both cards small wonder it is a favourite. Super cards! XOXO Zoe

    Reply

  13. Aileen
    May 06, 2011 @ 09:58:38

    love them both. x

    Reply

  14. Carol
    May 06, 2011 @ 10:41:13

    Two lovely cards, must get my chalks out again too. Carol x

    Reply

  15. Sarpreet
    May 08, 2011 @ 12:49:53

    Gorgeous card, love the style

    I have launched some blog candy in aid of charity, would appreciate any shout outs, please
    http://worldofsarpreet.blogspot.com/2011/05/my-blog-candy-in-aid-of-cancer-research.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

