No Layers

The Elzybells challenge this fortnight is not to use any layers on your card. I must admit that this was a little harder than I first thought it would be. I started by adding texture to my card by embossing the top and bottom with the Cuttlebug ‘Swiss Dot’ border folder.  I also scored a line to define the borders, underneath the  embossing at the top, and at the top of the bottom embossing.  I used the masking technique to make the picture.  I stamped the ‘Girl on a Swing’ image twice, once on the card, and once on a post-it note.  After cutting out the post-it image, I masked the image on the card with it, and also masked the borders, which I wanted to keep white, with extra post-it sheets.  I stamped Elzybells’ ‘Daisy Stem’ randomly on the  card, and coloured in the images with Promarkers.  Keeping the mask in place, I dabbed the exposed card with pink and green inks on a piece of Cut and Dry foam, to give the image a softly coloured background. Then the masks were removed, and the girl was coloured in with Promarkers. I added a gingham ribbon and a butterfly charm to finish off the card.

elzybells-no-layers

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annie
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 14:35:42

    beautiful card Maria, but oh what a challenge! hugs, annie x

    Reply

  2. Rachel Hope
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 18:00:06

    So pretty, love the flowers scattered around

    Reply

  3. Viv
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 19:12:34

    What a pretty card. You followed the challenge a treat and coloured it beautifully.
    Viv xx

    Reply

  4. Nikki
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 09:57:33

    Gorgeous card Maria, such a cute image and i love the embossed background and pretty ribbon. Hugs Nikki x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

