A Valentine Treat

The Elzybells challenge this week is to make a Valentine treat or gift. I used the gorgeous Love You Teds stamp for my image, and made a cover for a yummy chocolate bar.  I coloured the image with Promarkers, and die-cut the shape with one of the new Nestabilities dies. The decorative edge is made with the Martha Stewart doiley punch.  The cover is made rather like a cheque book cover.  I  measured the bar, taking into account its depth for a gusset, and used a piece of Bazzill Swiss Dots card measuring roughly 3.5″ x 12″.  I scored the depth of the gusset at the centre before I folded the cover.  To hold the chocolate bar in place, I wrapped a piece of grosgrain ribbon around it, covering up the join with a punched heart, then placed a length of strong double-sided tape on the ribbon, on the underside of the bar, and adhered this securely to the inside of the cover.

Come and join our challenge this week, and make a special Valentine treat for your loved one.

elzybells-challenge-12elzybells-challenge-12-ii

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annie
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 14:05:54

    what a fabby idea for a chocolate treat! I’ve made similar for post-it-notes, but chocolate is so much more delicious! love the cute teds image too. hugs, annie x

    Reply

  2. DIlly
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 17:01:54

    What a lovely idea and how sweet is the image. Love the nesties.

    Reply

  3. paula
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 00:53:33

    Maria this is sooooo cute! I love this image, I guess I am gonna have to get an order together!!

    Reply

  4. Rachel Hope
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 03:08:40

    Awww, so so sweet!

    Reply

  5. joey
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 10:27:22

    Hi Maria, this is so wonderful, the images are so adorable, beautiful soft colouring. joey xxx

    Reply

  6. grenadine
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 19:04:00

    So beautiful !
    Kiss

    Reply

  7. linda
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 18:50:57

    Hi Maria, this is such a gorgeous project, i love this image. I have left something on my blog for you hun! hugs Linda x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

